Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
We inform. You decide.
Monday, October 25, 2021

Opinion

In this March 15, 2019, photo, President Donald Trump speaks about border security in the Oval Office of the White House, Friday, March 15, 2019, in Washington. Trump’s veto of a bipartisan congressional resolution rejecting his border emergency declaration is more than a milestone. It signals a new era of tenser relations between the two ends of Pennsylvania Avenue. (AP Photo/Evan Vucci)
OPINION  |  EDITORIALS

Blurred lines are creating an unchecked government

The system of checks and balances is as fundamental to the U.S. as the Constitution itself. However, in recent decades, the lines between the government’s branches have blurred. On Friday, President Donald Trump issued the first veto of his presidency, an act many presidents before him have used. This act is within his constitutional power, but what sets it apart from any other presidential veto is his manipulation of executive power.


FILE - In this Feb. 28, 2019 file photo, actress Lori Loughlin, center, poses with daughters Olivia Jade Giannulli, left, and Isabella Rose Giannulli at the 2019 "An Unforgettable Evening" in Beverly Hills, Calif. Loughlin and her husband Mossimo Giannulli were charged along with nearly 50 other people Tuesday in a scheme in which wealthy parents bribed college coaches and other insiders to get their children into some of the most elite schools in the country, federal prosecutors said. (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP, File)
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

The bribery scandal isn’t the only thing wrong with college admissions

College admissions have been rocked by scandal recently. Federal authorities have busted a scheme in which wealthy parents paid a man named William “Rick” Singer to get their children into college. He bribed college coaches to recruit children as star athletes (even if they had never played the sport in question) and bribed SAT or other college entrance exam proctors to give the children an advantage (such as the proctor correcting his or her answers or allowing someone else to take the test in the child’s place). Numerous figures from all sorts of professional fields were involved, including law, real estate developers, executives, etc. Including the ones that grabbed the most attention were actresses Lori Loughlin of “Full House” and Felicity Huffman of “Desperate Housewives.” What Loughlin, Huffman and others did is clearly illegal, and they should face justice for their actions. However, outright bribery and fraud aren’t the only things wrong with college admissions, and many of those problems are perfectly legal.


Ambulance staff take a man from outside a mosque in central Christchurch, New Zealand, Friday, March 15, 2019. A witness says many people have been killed in a mass shooting at a mosque in the New Zealand city of Christchurch.(AP Photo/Mark Baker)
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

US lawmakers should look to New Zealand to solve our mass shooting epidemic

Last Friday, 50 lives were lost in Christchurch, New Zealand, after a gunman opened fire in two mosques. The perpetrator is understood to be a white nationalist who posted a racist manifesto online prior to the attack and live-streamed the killings on Facebook. He was identified as 28-year-old Brenton Harrison Tarrant from Australia. According to New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, he will go to trial in New Zealand where he will face the justice system for the acts of terror he committed.


OPINION  |  COLUMNS

The final weeks of the semester are the worst

With Spring Break gone and a terrifyingly challenging week of classes under our belts, we have all settled back in. It’s different this time, though. After a Spring Break without responsibilities or rules, it’s hard to rid ourselves of that mindset. We’ve tasted what life is like for the elite members of society who don’t have to work for things, and returning to the "Gainesville grind" now feels like a painful vacation to a penitentiary. What did we do to deserve this? Students’ breakup with Spring Break is cruel, and now we are left with the sloppy second half of the semester. Is there any hope that it’ll get better?


OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Boot the braids: Frosty's are good but human rights violations aren't

“We know that freedom has many dimensions. It is the right of the man who tills the land to own the land; the right of the workers to join together to seek better conditions of labor…” These words, spoken by Robert F. Kennedy at the 1962 World’s Fair in Seattle, the same year Cesar Chavez founded the National Farm Workers Association, echo today, leaving reverberations across the United States. Cesar Chavez, who had been protesting for better living conditions for migrant workers in California, encouraged his fellow Americans to boycott the grape industry that underpaid and abused its workers.


generic Darts and Laurels
OPINION  |  DARTS LAURELS

Darts and Laurels: March 15, 2019

You’ve just started your car. Your gas tank is full, and your mind is refreshed. Spring Break is officially over, and it’s time to head back to reality. You mentally prepare yourself for the drive back to Gainesville. You’ve spent the past week relaxing, without a care in the world. Deadlines were pushed to the back of your mind, and anything that remotely reminded you of school was quickly brushed aside.


OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Jury duty? More like civic duty

The dreaded day comes for all of us, usually sooner than expected. We spend our whole lives trying to escape it, but, alas, each of us must meet our match at some point. When people open up the mailbox and the white envelope with the big red letters is there, it makes most people roll their eyes in defeat. Your government has summoned you for jury duty.


Tidying guru Marie Kondo helps people tidy up their homes in Netflix's  “Tidying Up With Marie Kondo.”
OPINION  |  EDITORIALS

Marie Kondo can teach us more than just how to fold

If you’re anything like us, your cleaning habits have improved considerably over the past few weeks – and we have Marie Kondo to thank. Kondo is a Japanese best-selling author who recently came out with a show on Netflix called “Tidying Up With Marie Kondo” on Jan. 1. It’s quite possibly the most relaxing show since the days of Bob Ross. In each episode, Kondo shows people fundamental skills that allow them to clean up their lives both physically and mentally.


Photo by Alex D'Alessio on Unsplash
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Spring Break is a way to get back on track and to stay on track

This semester has been hectic and stressful, so going home for Break was a good decision for me. I needed a change from the constant responsibilities I have at school. It allowed me to get back on track for the rest of the semester and spend time with family. Here are some ways to maximize relaxation and recharge even after Spring Break is over.


Dillon Basse, the lead singer and rhythm guitarist of Flipturn, plays the final note of “August” during Flipturn’s performance Friday night at the High Dive. The concert was sold out, and it was a part of the Changeville festival that took place Feb. 7 and Feb. 8 in downtown Gainesville.
 
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Stadiums are cool, but small concert venues are better

Concerts fall into two categories, generally. You have big concerts, like those of Kanye West, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift or just musical acts that everybody goes to. Then you have your smaller concerts: the SoundCloud rappers, the indie rock groups from Bandcamp or the up-and-coming DJ you found through Spotify’s Discover Weekly playlist. These are the more intimate concerts and are certainly more obscure. I went to one of these concerts about a week ago (shoutout to Car Seat Headrest for a great concert), and trust me when I say the experience was life-changing. All concerts have an intangible quality of connection to the world. Something about live music mixes with our own lives in a way that, if the performance is even half decent, it guarantees goosebumps. Small concerts, however, have a heightened effect on concert-goers.


This image released by Disney-Marvel Studios shows Brie Larson in a scene from "Captain Marvel." (Disney-Marvel Studios via AP)
OPINION  |  EDITORIALS

Is the Internet becoming immune to its trolls?

Everyone’s a critic. This phrase has never been truer than it is today. The internet is a breeding ground for comments, critiques and unsolicited opinions. On every social media platform or website, comment sections fall at the end of the page.


OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Return to school ready for work, not burnout

Welcome back to UF, Gators! Hopefully, you had a week to unwind, relax and take your mind off school for a bit, but now it’s back to the routine of assignments, quizzes, exams, essays and schoolwork of all kinds. We have to do it for about eight more weeks until the end of the semester. Some of you might be thinking, “Eight weeks? I’m so close to summer now!” To those people, I admire your optimism. For me and many others, we are thinking, “Eight weeks? How am I going to last that long?” Well, never fear. This column is for you!


Flu Shot
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

Anti-vaxxers are spreading fake news. It’s time you heard the truth.

In the early 20th century, parents refused to allow their children to enter swimming pools or partake in typical summer activities. Childhoods were robbed and parents lived in fear of a crippling disease: polio. Little did they know, this disease was preventable. Luckily, Jonas Salk, a researcher and inventor, or better yet, a hero, developed a vaccine in 1955 that prevented the contraction of polio. Millions of children worldwide were spared from a crippling life, thanks to him. Once this vaccine was licensed for use, people worldwide demanded to be vaccinated – a small or nonexistent price to pay for the reward of a long, healthy life.


generic Darts and Laurels
OPINION  |  DARTS LAURELS

Darts and Laurels: March 1, 2019

The end of the week is finally in sight, which means Spring Break is mere hours away. As you’ve dealt with midterms, presentations and essays, you’ve been planning for break and all of the adventures you’re going to have. You finally finished your last exam, and you’re ready to start packing. Visions of blue waves and sugary sand dance through your brain. With a wistful sigh, you grab your suitcase and start thinking about everything you’re going to need for a spring break spent on the shore.


Rapper Cardi B tris autonomous sensory meridian response, or ASMR, during a W Magazine video. 
OPINION  |  COLUMNS

I don’t want ASMR on my feed

I can get on board with a lot of weird stuff. I appreciate a good soap cutting video. I adore beauty gurus. Don’t get me started on my Taylor Swift fandom. I’m pretty trendy and hip with the things “the youngins" like. But, seriously, I cannot get behind ASMR.


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2021 The Independent Florida Alligator and Campus Communications, Inc.