Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
We inform. You decide.
Friday, September 24, 2021

With primary elections only a week away, early voting around Gainesville has begun for citizens seeking to cast an early ballot.

Early voting continues this week, with polls open from 10 a.m to 6 p.m. Monday to Friday. Polls will also be open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, which is the last day to vote.

The primary election will be held Tuesday.

Florida is a closed primary state, which means citizens who wish to vote in a partisan primary election must be a registered voter in the party the primary is being held. However, all registered voters, regardless of party affiliation, can vote on issues and non-partisan candidates in a primary election.

In the state-wide election, the seat for Florida senator is up for grabs.

In the local elections, candidates will face off for positions on the county commission, property appraiser, school board district and police sheriff.

According to the Alachua County Supervisor of Elections website, there are currently three locations for Gainesville residents to cast early ballots: the Supervisor of Elections Office at 12 SE First St.; Millhopper Branch Library at 3145 NW 43rd St.; and Tower Road Branch Library at 3020 SW 75th St.

In order to cast a ballot, voters are required to present a current and valid picture identification with a signature to voting officials.

The Alachua County races are listed below:

Non-Partisan Races

School Board District 4

Leanetta McNealy

Enjoy what you're reading? Get content from The Alligator delivered to your inbox

Barbara Sharpe

Jodi Wood

Democratic Party Races

United States Senator

Glenn. A Burkett

Bill Nelson

County Commission District 1

Mike Byerly

Roberta C. Lopez

County Commission District 3

Ken Cornell

Robert “Hutch” Hutchinson

County Commission District 5

Charles S. Chestnut, IV

Property Appraiser

Ed Crapo

Alonzo V. Perkins

Republican Party Races

United States Senator

Connie Mack

Mike McCalister

Marielena Stuart

Dave Weldon

George LeMieux or Deon Long are no longer running.

Florida State Representative District 3

James Jett

Steve Oelrich

Clifford B. “Cliff” Steams

Ted Yoho

County Commission District 1

Brandon C. Kutner

John Martin

Kevin Riordan

County Commission District 3

Jean Claderwood

County Commission District 5

Dean Cheshire

Write-In Candidates


Tony Sims (Write-In)

County Commission District 3

Bryan C. Buchanan (Write-in)

Property Appraiser

Syed Mohammad I. Haider (Write-In)


John Annarumma (Ind)

Saidie Darnell (Dem)

County Commission District 5

K. Siva Prasad (Ind.)



Contact Chris Alcantara at

Support your local paper
Donate Today
The Independent Florida Alligator has been independent of the university since 1971, your donation today could help #SaveStudentNewsrooms. Please consider giving today.

Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2021 The Independent Florida Alligator and Campus Communications, Inc.